Marie Chisholm-Burns

Areas of Achievement: 
Health/Medicine, Higher Education, Science

Honored by

Donor(s) name: Chisholm-BurnsMarie

Dr. Chisholm-Burns came from a very humble background. As of 2018, she was serving as Dean and Professor of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Pharmacy and Professor of Surgery in the College of Medicine. She previously served as Professor and Head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, with joint appointments as Professor in the Department of Surgery and the Division of Health Promotion Sciences. Dr. Chisholm-Burns received her BS in Psychology and General Studies (Emphasis in Biology) from Georgia College, BS in Pharmacy and Doctor of Pharmacy degrees from The University of Georgia, Master of Public Health from Emory University, and Master of Business Administration from the University of Memphis. She completed her residency at Mercer University Southern School of Pharmacy and at Piedmont Hospital in Atlanta, Georgia.

Dr. Chisholm-Burns is Founder and Director of the Medication Access Program which increases medication access to transplant recipients. She has also served in numerous elected leadership positions in several different professional organizations, has worked in multiple pharmacy settings, and is a member of the National Academies of Practice. She serves as a member of government organizations, such as the Food and Drug Administration.

As of 2018, she had 315 publications and more than $11 million in external funding as principal investigator and co-investigator from organizations such as the National Institutes of Health and several foundations, Dr. Chisholm-Burns is a prolific scholar. She has published several textbooks that have been adopted in many schools of pharmacy, medicine, and nursing. In 2008 and 2011, textbooks co-edited by Dr. Chisholm-Burns, Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice and Pharmacy Management, Leadership, Marketing, and Finance, respectively, received the Medical Book Award from the American Medical Writers Association.

Dr. Chisholm-Burns has received numerous awards and honors including the Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award and Paul R. Dawson Biotechnology Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy; the Rufus A. Lyman Award for most outstanding publication in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education (1996 and 2007); the Clinical Pharmacy Education Award from the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, the Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award and Research Achievement Award from the American Pharmacists Association; the Nicholas Andrew Cummings Award from the National Academies of Practice; the Award of Excellence from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP); the Pharmacy Practice Research Award (2011 and 2014) and Award for Sustained Contributions to the Literature from the ASHP Foundation; the ASHP/Association of Black Health-Systems Pharmacists Joint Leadership Award; the Chauncey I. Cooper Pharmacist Leadership Award from the National Pharmaceutical Association; and the Clinician of Distinction Award from the American Society of Transplantation.

She is a great advocate of education and believes education will help solve many problems facing society.